Friday, July 2, 2010

The Unofficial World Champions

I had forgotten (if I ever knew) that the Netherlands are the Unofficial World Champions according to this. The method for determining the Unofficial World Champion is very simple. Whoever is the champion remains the champion until they are defeated -- and then the team that beats them becomes the champion. (If there's a tie, the champion retains the title). Netherlands won the title by defeating Sweden (don't ask) 3-1 on November 11, 2008 -- and have held it ever since during a remarkable unbeaten streak that has now reached 23 games. Brazil, on the other hand, hasn't even played for the Unofficial World Championship since 1998 -- when they lost the title to France in the finals of the World Cup.

No comments:

Post a Comment