Sunday, December 7, 2014

The Bowls, 1983 Version

Here's what the bowls would look like if we were in 1983 -- I leave it up to you whether you like this system better or worse than the system we currently have:

Orange Bowl:  (1) Florida St. (11-0) v. (6) Missouri (10-1)
(Since Missouri would be in the Big 8, their only loss would be to Indiana)

Sugar Bowl:  (2) Alabama (10-1) v. (7) Texas Christian (10-1)

Rose Bowl:  (3) Oregon (10-1) v. (4) Ohio St. (10-1)

Cotton Bowl:  (5) Baylor (10-1) v. (9) Mississippi St (9-2)

Fiesta Bowl:  (8) Michigan St. (9-2) v. (10) Arizona (9-2)

Florida State would, of course, roll over the Big 8 champ and take the title -- just like Miami used to do back in the day.  Of course, I think FSU is going to roll over everyone and take the title this year.  At least under the old system, everything would be over by the end of New Year's Day.

One more thing:  if the Big XII really does add two members in order to have a championship game, I hope they add Southern Methodist and Rice.

No comments:

Post a Comment