Saturday, March 2, 2013

More from the Regionals

In the 9th Region today, CovCath drilled Newport 63-48, while Covington Holmes survived a 40-39 overtime battle with Cooper.

The 1st, 4th, and 9th region championships will be played tomorrow, and the 7th and 16th regions have already been decided.  The remaining regional titles will be handed out tonight.  I'll have to miss these games, but here are my predictions:

2d:  Hopkinsville over Henderson County
3d:  Ohio Co. over Owensboro Catholic
5th:  John Hardin over North Hardin
6th:  PRP over Butler
8th:  Oldham Co. over South Oldham
10th:  Montgomery Co. over Scott
11th:  Madison Cent over Lex. Catholic
12th:  Wayne Co. over Somerset
13th:  Harlan Co. over Clay Co.
14th:  Knott Co. Cent. over Perry Co. Cent.
15th:  Johnson Cent. over Sheldon Clark


  1. Pretty good, Go Heath. Crestwood South Oldham beat Buckner Oldham County, 58-48, in the Eighth, and Clay County won, 84-76, at Harlan County in the 13th. Otherwise, you've picked the finals correctly so far.

    We have one game still underway: Ohio County up, 33-29, through three quarters against Owensboro Catholic at the Owensboro Sportscenter in the Third. WKWC 90.3 FM is carrying the game.

  2. Cole Claybourn ‏@ColeClaybournMI
    And there it is. Ohio County fans chant "We Are OC." Catholic responds with, "So Are We." Clever.
    7:51 p.m. - Mar 2, 2013

    Madelyn Willoughby ‏@Maddi_015
    "Sold your souls" -Ohio county "We love Jesus" -O. Cath "We Love him more" Ohio county! #bestthingever
    8:29 PM - Mar 2, 2013

  3. OweCath within 2. "It comes down to who wants it most now, who wants to step up," says the WKWC crew.

  4. Now Ohio County has surged to a nine-point lead with four minutes to go.

  5. "I'll tell you ... the big guy on the front row might blow up here in a minute." (I really think this is what the guy said.)

  6. 42-34, Ohio County leads with 1:51 to go ...

  7. Owensboro Catholic still has to commit three personal fouls just to tip Ohio County into the bonus ...

  8. Cole Claybourn ‏@ColeClaybournMI
    Ah. Refs are anticipating fouls. Jansen Riney had a clean steal but was whistled for a foul.
    9:10 p.m. - Mar 2, 2013

  9. TheShowTMC ‏@TheShowTMC
    Ohio county will win its 4th 3rd region championship and first since 05. Also first for Coach Paul Decker. Just waiting on final score now
    9:15 p.m. - Mar 2, 2013

  10. OK, let's wrap these up. Here are the last 10 winners of the 3d Region:

    2012: Owensboro Apollo
    2011: Daviess Co.
    2010: Muhlenberg Co.
    2009: Grayson Co.
    2008: Owensboro
    2007: Owensboro
    2006: Owensboro Apollo (State Runner-Up)
    2005: Ohio Co.
    2004: Owensboro Apollo
    2003: Daviess Co.

    The last team from the Third Region to win the title was Breckinridge County, which did so in 1995.

  11. Here are the last 10 winners of the 5th Region:

    2012: John Hardin
    2011: Bardstown
    2010: North Hardin
    2009: Adair Co.
    2008: Bardstown
    2007: Adair Co.
    2006: John Hardin
    2005: Elizabethtown
    2004: Caverna
    2003: North Hardin

    The last team from the 5th Region to win the title was E-town, in 2000.

  12. Here are the last 10 winners of the 14th Region:

    2012: Knott Co. Central
    2011: Perry Co. Central
    2010: Knott Co. Central
    2009: Hazard
    2008: Hazard
    2007: June Buchanan
    2006: Hazard
    2005: Perry Co. Central
    2004: Perry Co. Central
    2003: Powell Co.

    No team from the 14th Region has won the title -- or even reached the final -- since Carr Creek won in all in 1956. The last team from the 14th Region to reach the semi-finals was Hazard, in 1986.

  13. Here are the last 10 winners of the 15th Region:

    2012: Johnson Central
    2011: Shelby Valley
    2010: Shelby Valley (STATE CHAMPS)
    2009: Shelby Valley
    2008: Paintsville
    2007: Shelby Valley
    2006: Johnson Central
    2005: Shelby Valley
    2004: East Ridge
    2003: Shelby Valley