Monday, July 3, 2023


Many years ago, when America still had world-class tennis champions, Wimbledon was one of my favorite events of the year.  But no American man has won the single's title at Wimbledon since Pete Sampras in 2000, and my interest has waned.  Also, it seems like they used to play the final around the Fourth of July, but I noticed on ESPN that they just started Round One.  I tried to watch some of it, but of course it immediately started raining and they went to interviews, so I've switched over to the Tour de France.

Anyway, here are the last ten men's singles champions at Wimbledon, a period that covers 11 years:

2012:  Roger Federer (SUI)
2013:  Andy Murray (SCO)
2014:  Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2015:  Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2016:  Andy Murray (SCO)
2017:  Roger Federer (SUI)
2018:  Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2019:  Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2020:  None
2021:  Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2022:  Novak Djokovic (SRB)

Federer has the most titles of all time, with eight.  Djokovic and Sampras each have seven.  Rafael Nadel won in 2008 and 2010.  Since 2002, every men's singles title at Wimbledon has been won by Federer, Djokovic, Nadal, or Andy Murray.

There's been a lot more parity on the ladies' side:

2012:  Serena Williams
2013:  Marion Bartoli (FRA)
2014:  Petra Kvitova (CZE)
2015:  Serena Williams
2016:  Serena Williams
2017:  Garbine Muguruza (ESP)
2018:  Angelique Kerber (GER)
2019:  Simona Halep (ROU)
2020:  None
2021:  Ashleigh Barty (AUS)
2022:  Elena Rybakina (KAZ)

Martina Navratilova leads everyone here with nine titles, followed by Steffi Graf and Serena Williams, who each have seven.  Billy Jean King has six titles, Venus Williams has five, and Chris Evert has three.

No comments:

Post a Comment