Friday, December 6, 2013

Kentucky High-school Football, Class A Champions

So the Mayfield Cardinals on Friday beat the Williamsburg Yellow Jackets, 42-0, for the KHSAA Class A football championship. That makes 10 (!) state championships for Mayfield, and that's the fourth highest for any school in KHSAA football history. As noted by Mike Fields in the Lexington Herald-Leader, current Cardinals coach Joe Morris now has the same number of state championships (four) as his dad, former Cardinals coach Jack. Mayfield finished 14-1 this season.

Here are the year-by-year Kentucky Class A football champs:

2013 Mayfield
2012 Mayfield
2011 Hazard
2010 Mayfield
2009 Lexington Christian
2008 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
2007 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
2006 Newport Central Catholic
2005 Newport Central Catholic
2004 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
2003 Danville
2002 Mayfield
2001 Danville
2000 Danville
1999 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
1998 Middlesboro
1997 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
1996 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
1995 Mayfield
1994 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
1993 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
1992 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
1991 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
1990 Russellville
1989 Pikeville
1988 Pikeville
1987 Pikeville
1986 Heath
1985 Crittenden County
1984 Fort Mitchell Beechwood
1983 Russellville
1982 Paris
1981 Paris
1980 Russellville
1979 Bellevue
1978 Fort Campbell
1977 Bellevue
1976 Fort Campbell
1975 Ludlow
1974 Murray
1973 Paris
1972 Trigg County
1971 Trigg County
1970 Bardstown
1969 Mount Sterling
1968 Lynch East Main
1967 Bardstown
1966 Dayton
1965 Erlanger Lloyd Memorial
1964 Elkhorn City
1963 Lynch East Main
1962 Versailles
1961 Murray
1960 Lynch East Main
1959 Lynch East Main

The only teams still playing Class A football who have won Class A state championships are Mayfield, Hazard, Beechwood, Russellville, Pikeville, Crittenden County, Paris, Bellevue, Ludlow and Dayton. The other teams who are part of Class A are Fulton City, Fulton County, Bardstown Bethlehem, Horse Cave Caverna, Louisville Holy Cross, Louisville Kentucky Country Day, Bracken County, Eminence, Frankfort, Berea, Campbellsville, Lynn Camp, Williamsburg, Harlan, Jenkins, Pineville, Westood Fairview, Nicholas County, Paintsville, Raceland-Worthington, Allen Central, Phelps and South Floyd. 

No comments:

Post a Comment