Sunday, October 14, 2012

ALCS: Detroit v. New York

The American League Championship Series features two of the original eight AL franchises:  the Detroit Tigers and the New York Yankees.  These two ancient foes have been going at each other since the administration of Theodore Roosevelt.  Like most Yankee foes, the Tigers have been bested more often than not -- they have won the AL pennant 10 times, compared to 40 for the Yankees.  But the Tigers have done quite well against the Yankees in recent years -- they beat New York in the ALDS in both 2006 and 2011.  In fact, this is a golden era for the Tigers, who are making their third trip to the ALCS in the last seven years.

Here is a list of each team's appearances in the ALCS -- years in which they won the pennant are in bold:

Detroit (2-3):  1972, 1984, 1987, 2006, 2011

New York (11-3):  1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1981, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2009, 2010

1 comment: