Monday, May 28, 2012

High School Baseball: Time for Regionals

The First Region Baseball Tournament starts today at Brooks Stadium in Paducah. Here are your quarter-final matchups:

Calloway Co. (29-6-1) v. Fulton City (9-16)
St. Mary (21-10) v. Heath (14-20)
Hickman Co. (14-16) v. Graves Co. (23-14)
Lone Oak (31-7) v. Murray (22-13)

It's really odd to see a First Region tournament -- in any sport -- without Tilghman, Marshall County, or Mayfield.

That Lone Oak /Murray game should be a good one.

For you Kentucky geography buffs, here's where the other regional tournaments are being played, along with the best record in each region):

2d Region: Henderson Co. (Union Co. went 27-10)
3d Region: Shifley Park, Owensboro (Muhlenberg Co. went 28-6)
4th Region: W. Kentucky University (Russellville went 28-9)
5th Region: Elizabethtown (Central Hardin went 28-9)
6th Region: U. of Louisville (Bullitt East went 32-6)
7th Region: U. of Louisville (Eastern went 31-7)
8th Region: Collins H.S. in Shelbyville (Oldham Co. went 24-11)
9th Region: Champion Window Field, Florence (home of the Florence Freedom) (Covington Catholic went 33-5)
10th Region: Montgomery Co. (Harrison Co. went 28-9)
11th Region: Tates Creek H.S. in Lexington (Lex. Catholic went 31-7)
12th Region: Danville (W. Jessamine went 31-5)
13th Region: S. Laurel (N. Laurel went 27-6)
14th Region: Wolfe County Sports Complex (Powell Co. went 27-11)
15th Region: Pikeville (Pikeville went 24-7)
16th Region: Bath Co. (Lewis Co. went 24-5)

Here are the state baseball champs since 2000:

2000: Henderson Co.
2001: Boyd Co.
2002: Cov. Catholic
2003: Lex. Dunbar
2004: Christian Co.
2005: Lex. Christian
2006: Lex. Catholic
2007: Lex. Dunbar
2008: Lou. Pleasure Ridge Park
2009: Lex. Catholic
2010: Harrison Co.
2011: Central Hardin